Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics 2005 Awards

by | December 20, 2005 | Comments

December 19, 2005 — DALLAS-FORT WORTH FILM CRITICS NAME “BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN” BEST OF 2005. The Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association voted the frontier romance BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN as the best film of 2005, according to the results of its 12th annual critics’ poll.

Rounding out the composite list of the top 10 films of the year were CAPOTE (2), GOOD NIGHT AND GOOD LUCK (3), CRASH (4), CINDERELLA MAN (5), SYRIANA (6), PRIDE AND PREJUDICE (7), A HISTORY OF VIOLENCE (8), KING KONG (9) and THE THREE BURIALS OF MELQUIADES ESTRADA (10).

For Best Actor, the association named Philip Seymour Hoffman for CAPOTE. Runners-up included Heath Ledger for BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN (2), David Strathairn for GOOD NIGHT AND GOOD LUCK (3), Joaquin Phoenix for WALK THE LINE (4) and Russell Crowe for CINDERELLA MAN (5).

Felicity Huffman was voted Best Actress for TRANSAMERICA. Next in the voting were Keira Knightley for PRIDE AND PREJUDICE (2), Reese Witherspoon for WALK THE LINE (3), Joan Allen for THE UPSIDE OF ANGER (4) and Charlize Theron for NORTH COUNTRY (5).

In the Best Supporting Actor category, the winner was Matt Dillon for CRASH. He was followed by Paul Giamatti for CINDERELLA MAN (2), Jake Gyllenhaal for BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN (3), George Clooney for SYRIANA (4) and Jesse Eisenberg for THE SQUID AND THE WHALE (5).

For Best Supporting Actress, the association named Catherine Keener for CAPOTE. Runners-up included Michelle Williams for BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN (2), Rachel Weisz for THE CONSTANT GARDENER (3), Scarlett Johansson for MATCH POINT (4) and Amy Adams for JUNEBUG (5).

Ang Lee was voted Best Director for BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN. Next in the voting were George Clooney for GOOD NIGHT AND GOOD LUCK (2), Bennett Miller for CAPOTE (3), Peter Jackson for KING KONG (4) and Paul Haggis for CRASH (5).

The association voted PARADISE NOW as the best foreign-language film of the year. Runners-up were KUNG FU HUSTLE (2), DOWNFALL (3), NOBODY KNOWS (4) and BALZAC AND THE LITTLE CHINESE SEAMSTRESS (5).


WALLACE AND GROMIT: THE CURSE OF THE WERE-RABBIT was named the best animated film of 2003, with CORPSE BRIDE as runner-up. The award for Best Cinematography went to Rodrigo Prieto for BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN, followed by Emmanuel Lubezki for THE NEW WORLD. Larry McMurtry and Diana Ossana won the Best Screenplay award for BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN over Dan Futterman for CAPOTE.

The association voted ME AND YOU AND EVERYONE WE KNOW as the winner of the Russell Smith Award, named for the late Dallas Morning News film critic. The honor is given annually to the best low-budget or cutting-edge independent film.

The Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association consists of 33 broadcast, print and online journalists from throughout North Texas.

Tag Cloud

TruTV Rock History CW Seed crossover cults Ovation E! political drama Fall TV social media binge NYCC TCM Podcast CBS VICE Superheroes CNN FOX Spike composers Biopics Extras Nominations Martial Arts DC streaming service Sundance Now Disney Box Office science fiction spy thriller VH1 politics Drama Country Toys BBC America SundanceTV National Geographic GLAAD Year in Review Oscars Grammys A&E Winners unscripted Syfy SDCC Disney Channel FX Cartoon Network Amazon Cosplay blaxploitation docudrama ABC Family historical drama Rocky Photos USA what to watch Certified Fresh Western Mystery Reality Competition Spring TV boxoffice Infographic IFC comiccon GoT aliens Nat Geo Sci-Fi X-Men TBS biography anime psycho Holidays MTV Paramount Network Calendar Winter TV Ghostbusters Summer zombies Netflix Britbox Super Bowl discovery Superheroe travel adventure singing competition Interview 24 frames cats Food Network Emmys Tumblr DC Comics DirecTV golden globes Lucasfilm Watching Series YA USA Network Esquire Lionsgate LGBTQ Creative Arts Emmys San Diego Comic-Con Masterpiece sitcom Pixar thriller Countdown talk show dceu Bravo ITV doctor who hist ratings Nickelodeon transformers See It Skip It Shondaland crime drama TIFF dramedy TCA 2017 Comic Book 45 TV Land Election Song of Ice and Fire Polls and Games President streaming Paramount Kids & Family diversity PaleyFest YouTube Premium New York Comic Con Pirates TLC Star Trek First Look OWN Set visit cops Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt Comedy Freeform 2017 American Society of Cinematographers Fox News sports Sundance Epix Sony Pictures SXSW Pop festivals Star Wars El Rey Music war Character Guide Opinion Showtime Columbia Pictures Reality MSNBC Schedule crime RT History TCA Comedy Central The Arrangement PBS Horror Logo Fantasy Video Games dc Lifetime 2015 vampires TNT Trivia Red Carpet WGN HBO IFC Films based on movie cooking BET Ellie Kemper BBC APB 2016 crime thriller Musical Animation mutant Teen FXX Starz DC Universe Rom-Com Best and Worst 20th Century Fox Premiere Dates ESPN E3 Marathons Awards Comics on TV 21st Century Fox jamie lee curtis Christmas Shudder Tomatazos period drama supernatural Apple Hulu Warner Bros. Valentine's Day Sneak Peek medical drama GIFs technology finale Mary Tyler Moore justice league cinemax police drama AMC Dark Horse Comics Trailer Adult Swim Thanksgiving YouTube Red TV zombie Crackle The CW CMT Walt Disney Pictures CBS All Access romance robots Writers Guild of America 007 Marvel Universal Action Acorn TV Musicals ABC Mindy Kaling NBC serial killer harry potter