Film Independent Awards: Moonlight Sweeps with 6 Wins

by | February 25, 2017 | Comments

The winners for the 32nd Annual Film Independent Spirit Awards were announced today on a show hosted by comedians Nick Kroll and John Mulaney, and broadcast live on IFC. Moonlight was the big winner with six awards, including Best Feature, Best Director and Best Screenplay. Robert Eggers’ horror The Witch took home the Best First Feature and Best First Screenplay awards. Read through for the full list of winners.

Best Feature

Best Director

Andrea Arnold

American Honey

Barry Jenkins


Pablo Larrain


Jeff Nichols


Kelly Reichardt

Certain Women

Best Screenplay

Best First Feature

Best First Screenplay

Best Male Lead

Casey Affleck

Manchester by the Sea

David Harewood

Free in Deed

Viggo Mortensen

Captain Fantastic

Jesse Plemons

Other People

Tim Roth


Best Female Lead

Best Supporting Male

Ralph Fiennes

A Bigger Splash

Ben Foster

Hell or High Water

Lucas Hedges

Manchester by the Sea

Shia LaBeouf

American Honey

Craig Robinson

Morris from America

Best Supporting Female

Edwina Findley

Free in Deed

Lily Gladstone

Certain Women

Riley Keough

American Honey

Molly Shannon

Other People

Best Cinematography

Best International Film

Best Documentary

Best Editing

John Cassavetes Award (Best Feature under $500,000)

Robert Altman Award (Best Ensemble)

Truer Than Fiction Award

Kristi Jacobson


Sara Jordenö


Nanfu Wang

Hooligan Sparrow

Someone to Watch Award

Piaget Producers Award

Tag Cloud

cinemax First Look SundanceTV crime thriller X-Men Pirates 45 Superheroes Certified Fresh Esquire Writers Guild of America vampires DC Universe cops Martial Arts Infographic TV TNT CBS All Access Mystery NYCC zombie Teen El Rey FXX History OWN TCA ESPN Video Games MTV Lionsgate Universal WGN Winter TV Logo technology GoT NBC Disney TruTV Sneak Peek TCA 2017 Nominations Pop 24 frames Tumblr Bravo Animation political drama Dark Horse Comics adventure Toys Photos USA Valentine's Day Calendar politics TLC psycho Fantasy harry potter DirecTV RT History diversity TIFF social media boxoffice American Society of Cinematographers GLAAD YA VH1 Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt Sci-Fi Masterpiece 2016 science fiction docudrama Marvel FOX Freeform ITV PaleyFest Mindy Kaling travel E3 BBC dramedy HBO based on movie Sundance discovery Hulu Country CMT Musicals Tomatazos TV Land Paramount Awards Cosplay Premiere Dates Emmys Countdown Kids & Family Grammys Star Trek Cartoon Network The Arrangement Watching Series Interview Mary Tyler Moore Fox News Spring TV Ghostbusters Starz PBS CNN Nickelodeon war 2017 Nat Geo crime drama IFC LGBTQ Podcast Music Rom-Com TCM thriller talk show MSNBC cats Year in Review APB FX Warner Bros. serial killer Box Office Oscars historical drama Marathons Disney Channel Amazon 007 Action Comic Book The CW Crackle Character Guide Adult Swim Thanksgiving comiccon crime Netflix Reality Competition Holidays supernatural BBC America Election Extras A&E Horror AMC Red Carpet composers Biopics Trivia Comedy Opinion Schedule aliens transformers police drama ABC Family Drama Star Wars 2015 Rock Best and Worst VICE ABC sports President Trailer Set visit Syfy period drama Lifetime Ellie Kemper GIFs cooking Polls and Games Food Network E! Comedy Central biography CBS SDCC TBS DC Comics Winners Rocky Super Bowl Showtime Reality Summer Fall TV BET sitcom Musical singing competition