2021 Directors Guild Awards Nominations: The Full List

Chloé Zhao cements her Oscar front runner status among familiar competitors, while Netflix's Bridgerton secures nomination over The Crown.

by | March 9, 2021 | Comments

TAGGED AS: , , , , , ,


(Photo by Joshua James Richards/©Searchlight Pictures)

Following on the heels of the Producers Guild, the Directors Guild of America (DGA) announced the nominees for their own annual awards on Tuesday, March 9. Nomadland director Chloé Zhao strengthened her Oscar frontrunner status with a nod, alongside Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman) and Lee Isaac Chung (Minari). Though Regina King didn’t make the list for One Night in Miami, both she and Florian Zeller (The Father) scored nominations in the First-Time Feature Film category instead. In the TV categories, Netflix’s awards powerhouse The Crown was surprisingly shut out in the Dramatic Series competition, while both Ted Lasso and Curb Your Enthusiasm earned two nominations in the Comedy Series category.

The winners of the Directors Guild Awards will be announced during a private virtual event exclusive to DGA members on Saturday, April 10, just six days before final Academy Award voting begins, so expect the winner here to make a big impact on the Oscars. Read on for the full list of DGA Awards nominees below!

Theatrical Feature Film

Lee Isaac Chung – Minari
Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman
David Fincher – Mank
Aaron Sorkin – The Trial of the Chicago 7
Chloé Zhao – Nomadland

First-Time Feature Film

Radha Blank – The Forty-Year-Old Version
Fernando Frías de la Parra – I’m No Longer Here
Regina King – One Night in Miami
Darius Marder – Sound of Metal
Florian Zeller – The Father

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Dramatic Series

Jason Bateman – Ozark, “Wartime”
Jon Favreau – The Mandalorian, “Chapter 9: The Marshall”
Vince Gilligan – Better Call Saul, “Bagman”
Lesli Linka Glatter – Homeland, “Prisoners of War”
Julie Anne Robinson – Bridgerton, “Diamond of the First Water”

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Comedy Series

Zach Braff – Ted Lasso, “Biscuits”
MJ Delaney – Ted Lasso, “The Hope That Kills You”
Susanna Fogel – The Flight Attendant, “In Case of Emergency”
Erin O’Malley – Curb Your Enthusiasm, “The Surprise Party”
Jeff Schaffer – Curb Your Enthusiasm, “The Spite Store”

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Movies for Television and Limited Series

Susanne Bier – The Undoing
Scott Frank – The Queen’s Gambit
Thomas Kail – Hamilton
Matt Shakman – WandaVision
Lynn Shelton – Little Fires Everywhere, “Find a Way”

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Regularly Scheduled Programming

Paul G. Casey – Real Time with Bill Maher, “Episode 1835”
Jim Hoskinson – The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, “#1025 Live Show Following Capitol Insurrection”
Don Roy King – Saturday Night Live, “Dave Chappelle; Foo Fighters”
David Paul Meyer – The Daily Show with Trevor Noah, “President Obama: Inspiring Future Leaders & ‘A Promised Land'”
Christopher Werner – Last Week Tonight with John Oliver, “Trump & Election Results”

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Specials

Stacey Angeles – The Daily Show with Trevor Noah Presents: Remembering RBG – A Nation Ugly Cries with Desi Lydic
Marielle Heller – What the Constitution Means to Me
Jim Hoskinson – The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, “Stephen Colbert’s Election Night 2020: Democracy’s Last Stand: Building Back America Great Again Better 2020”
Spike Lee – David Byrne’s American Utopia
Thomas Schlamme – A West Wing Special to Benefit When We All Vote

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Reality Programs

David Charles – World’s Toughest Race: Eco-Challenge Fiji, “3,2,1…Go!”
Jon Favreau – The Chef Show, “Tartine”
Ken Fuchs – Shark Tank, “1211”
Joseph Guidry – Full Bloom, “Petal to the Metal”
Rich Kim – Lego Masters, “Mega City Block”

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Children’s Programs

Kabir Akhtar – High School Musical: The Musical ‑ The Series, “Opening Night”
Larissa Bills – On Pointe, “Showtime!”
Dean Israelite – The Astronauts, “Countdown”
Richie Keen – The Healing Powers of Dude, “Second Step: Homeroom”
Amy Schatz – We Are the Dream: The Kids of the Oakland MLK Oratorical Fest

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentary

Michael Dweck & Gregory Kershaw – The Truffle Hunters
Pippa Ehrlich & James Reed – My Octopus Teacher
David France – Welcome to Chechnya
Amanda McBaine & Jesse Moss – Boys State
Benjamin Ree – The Painter and the Thief

The Directors Guild Awards winners will be announced on April 10 during a private virtual event for DGA members.

On an Apple device? Follow Rotten Tomatoes on Apple News.