Awards Tour 2012: Film Independent Spirit Awards Winners

by | February 27, 2012 | Comments

The 27th Independent Spirit Awards announced its winners on Saturday, February 25, and we’ve got the complete list. See below to find out who took home the honors!

Best Film


The Artist



The Descendants


Take Shelter


Best Male Lead

Demian Bichir

A Better Life
Jean Dujardin

The Artist
Ryan Gosling

Woody Harrelson

Michael Shannon

Take Shelter

Best Female Lead

Lauren Ambrose

Think of Me
Rachael Harris

Natural Selection
Adepero Oduye

Elizabeth Olsen

Martha Marcy May Marlene
Michelle Williams

My Week with Marilyn

Best Supporting Male

Albert Brooks

John Hawkes

Martha Marcy May Marlene
Christopher Plummer

John C. Reilly

Cedar Rapids
Corey Stoll

Midnight in Paris

Best Supporting Female

Jessica Chastain

Take Shelter
Anjelica Huston

Janet McTeer

Albert Nobbs
Harmony Santana

Gun Hill Road
Shailene Woodley

The Descendants

Best Director

Michel Hazanavicius

The Artist
Mike Mills

Jeff Nichols

Take Shelter
Alexander Payne

The Descendants
Nicolas Winding Refn


Best First Feature

Another Earth

In the Family

Margin CallWinner!

Martha Marcy May Marlene

Natural Selection

John Cassavetes Award



Hello Lonesome


The Dynamiter

Best Screenplay

Beginners: Mike Mills

The Descendants: Alexander Payner, Nat Faxon, Jim Rash – Winner!

Footnote: Joseph Cedar

The Artist: Michel Hazanavicius

Win Win: Tom McCarthy

Best First Screenplay

Another Earth: Mike Cahill, Brit Marling

Terri: Patrick deWitt

Cedar Rapids: Phil Johnston

50/50: Will Reiser – Winner!

Margin Call: J.C. Chandor

Best Cinematography

The ArtistWinner!


The Dynamiter

Midnight in Paris

The Off Hours

Best Documentary

An African Election

Bill Cunningham New York

The InterruptersWinner!

The Redemption of General Butt Naked

We Were Here

Best Foreign Film

The Kid With a Bike: Belgium

Melancholia: Denmark

A Separation: Iran – Winner!

Shame: United Kingdom

Tyrannosaur: United Kingdom

Robert Altman Award

Margin Call

Piaget Producers Award

Mosquita y Mari: Chad Burris

Martha Marcy May Marlene: Josh Bond

Take Shelter: Sophia Lynn – Winner!

Someone to Watch Award

Silver Tongues: Simon Arthur

Without: Mark Jackson – Winner!

Mamitas: Nicholas Ozeki

Truer Than Fiction Award

Where Soldiers Come FromWinner!

Hell and Back Again

Bombay Beach

Tag Cloud

Holidays Universal crime thriller Netflix politics police drama Animation Musicals Nat Geo Polls and Games Fall TV Sundance Summer Toys Lifetime Rom-Com aliens Freeform Tumblr CBS All Access Esquire American Society of Cinematographers Cartoon Network Exclusive Video BET Premiere Dates Lionsgate History Music sports The CW FOX Fantasy science fiction VH1 SundanceTV Podcast Rock 2017 Disney Winners Awards period drama Video Games vampires docudrama Fox News AMC BBC America TV Land ABC Family Masterpiece boxoffice Character Guide 24 frames cops Superheroes NYCC dramedy crime drama Teen APB Mystery Bravo Red Carpet diversity Disney Channel MSNBC TruTV LGBTQ Nominations GLAAD Star Wars Interview First Look Watching Series Grammys PBS TNT CBS Year in Review Tomatazos Best and Worst Schedule TCA Star Trek 2015 Showtime Box Office Cosplay 2016 Trailer Winter TV Kids & Family Valentine's Day DirecTV social media Calendar Mary Tyler Moore Drama Election BBC Photos RT History Comic Book Trivia GoT TCM Super Bowl war Ghostbusters E! Extras travel SDCC NBC Pirates MTV Marvel Countdown Sneak Peek Rocky Writers Guild of America Crackle ABC Country ESPN Set visit DC Comics technology Thanksgiving TIFF Horror Opinion FXX El Rey Logo singing competition biography harry potter 007 cinemax HBO Reality Amazon President FX Comedy Adult Swim GIFs Food Network Marathons adventure TCA 2017 IFC comiccon Pop CNN Starz Hulu cooking Reality Competition discovery A&E Emmys TV ITV Comedy Central Action Martial Arts Certified Fresh CMT Oscars serial killer thriller X-Men Nickelodeon Infographic Spring TV USA VICE Syfy PaleyFest OWN Sci-Fi Biopics sitcom TBS WGN