Indie Spirit Awards Distributed

by | March 6, 2006 | Comments

Lost in the shadow of the weekend’s Oscar coverage was the annual Independent Spirit Awards presentation, which is where you’ll find … a lot of accolades similar to the Academy Award winners.

Best Feature: "Brokeback Mountain"

Best Director: Ang Lee, "Brokeback Mountain"

Best Screenplay: Dan Futterman, "Capote"

Best First Feature
: Paul Haggis, "Crash"

Best First Screenplay
: Duncan Tucker, "Transamerica"

John Cassavetes Award
: "Conventioneers" (For the Best Feature made for under $500,000) Director: Mora Stephens

Best Supporting Female: Amy Adams, "Junebug"

Best Supporting Male: Matt Dillon, "Crash"

Best Female Lead
: Felicity Huffman, "Transamerica"

Best Male Lead: Philip Seymour Hoffman, "Capote"

Best Cinematography: Robert Elswit, "Good Night, and Good Luck"

Best Foreign Film
: "Paradise Now" Director: Hany Abu-Assad

Best Documentary
: "Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room" Director: Alex Gibney

AMC/American Express Producers Award: Caroline Baron, "Capote", "Monsoon Wedding" ($25,000 unrestricted grant — honors producers who, despite highly limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality independent films.)

IFC/Acura Someone To Watch Award
: Ian Gamazon and Neill Dela Llana, "Cavite" ($25,000 unrestricted — honors a director of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition.)

Truer Than Fiction Award: Ian Olds and Garrett Scott, "Occupation: Dreamland" ($25,000 unrestricted — presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features.)

For more on the Independent Spirit Awards, check out the report at Indiewire / Yahoo!

Tag Cloud

Podcast Box Office twilight Anna Paquin Family Superheroe laika Winter TV criterion screen actors guild Universal MTV Walt Disney Pictures Mary Poppins Returns Lucasfilm dc Apple TV Plus child's play reviews Horror Song of Ice and Fire Britbox comiccon Winners aliens Chernobyl stop motion VH1 free movies The Purge WarnerMedia Disney Plus boxoffice composers discovery Apple VOD Christmas SXSW Drama cars disaster FX on Hulu werewolf Set visit Country Western Premiere Dates Lifetime game of thrones Rock Rocketman screenings BAFTA adventure venice kids The Walking Dead sitcom Marvel Television Schedule Captain marvel TCA Winter 2020 TCA Awards Shudder Toys Elton John cartoon Awards Tour History Heroines TNT worst movies quibi cooking social media game show supernatural technology Vudu 2016 Fantasy 2017 Starz miniseries indiana jones doctor who streaming Fall TV Comics on TV CBS Netflix Christmas movies Animation Endgame Disney+ Disney Plus finale die hard Women's History Month Binge Guide OWN a nightmare on elm street Nat Geo BET video historical drama cancelled TV series FXX revenge First Reviews Pop TV Quiz Musical independent Tarantino biography Peacock MSNBC adaptation cops serial killer science fiction Hulu spinoff Syfy Marvel Studios Funimation medical drama Ghostbusters Thanksgiving TV Land mission: impossible Discovery Channel crossover Nominations Certified Fresh Logo festival 2015 renewed TV shows Mudbound IFC Films Turner 007 vampires Countdown scorecard GIFs films Emmy Nominations period drama stand-up comedy Trophy Talk Pride Month Martial Arts New York Comic Con concert The Arrangement Acorn TV jamie lee curtis Biopics strong female leads Stephen King football remakes Classic Film YouTube Premium unscripted animated Television Critics Association Bravo Ovation sports nbcuniversal 21st Century Fox joker TBS Sundance Now universal monsters zombies OneApp based on movie PlayStation DC streaming service Emmys Tomatazos Musicals versus American Society of Cinematographers nfl A24 Paramount Marathons FX spy thriller witnail dogs Action true crime 2019 Nickelodeon breaking bad sag awards all-time chucky documentary canceled TV shows singing competition HBO Go HBO dramedy Amazon golden globes Disney Channel war Year in Review YouTube The Witch Mary Tyler Moore PBS cats TIFF dceu series SDCC Sneak Peek hollywood television directors ghosts south america Epix Food Network blockbuster Amazon Prime NBC 71st Emmy Awards 45 toy story Opinion name the review Lionsgate toronto Mary poppins RT21 72 Emmy Awards natural history Tubi Election TCM sequels dark Cosplay VICE Awards news Reality Brie Larson nature Sundance TV CNN festivals FOX halloween See It Skip It teaser scary movies Best and Worst Spike BBC America Mindy Kaling foreign children's TV El Rey Baby Yoda Apple TV+ best hist A&E Extras mockumentary Sony Pictures Cartoon Network AMC cinemax reboot Trailer Hear Us Out slashers TCA Hallmark TV LGBTQ Showtime cults TCA 2017 HBO Max harry potter BBC X-Men Calendar diversity RT History Holidays batman Holiday Rocky CW Seed GLAAD Watching Series IFC LGBT PaleyFest 2018 Avengers Super Bowl Cannes TLC superhero travel 20th Century Fox police drama Video Games Pirates cancelled television Superheroes Film CMT sequel GoT parents Music anime dragons stoner DC Comics zombie Character Guide MCU psychological thriller Disney streaming service Masterpiece First Look Netflix Marvel Comic Book Valentine's Day cancelled TV shows Amazon Studios ABC Family National Geographic Amazon Prime Video docudrama zero dark thirty facebook 24 frames TV renewals mutant E! space classics casting Television Academy BET Awards movies NYCC theme song Star Trek Lifetime Christmas movies comedies Crackle Spring TV spider-man YA psycho USA spanish language christmas movies Rom-Com Turner Classic Movies rotten movies we love USA Network 2020 talk show romantic comedy SundanceTV Photos Oscars Red Carpet Esquire critics crime drama Academy Awards Comedy Central Crunchyroll Pet Sematary Film Festival Sundance Comedy Columbia Pictures President spain political drama Tumblr Creative Arts Emmys satire cancelled Writers Guild of America franchise comic ABC Freeform blaxploitation Grammys documentaries romance Polls and Games rotten Adult Swim asian-american video on demand Trivia emmy awards Shondaland Black History Month Paramount Network DGA Kids & Family Hallmark Christmas movies Reality Competition Black Mirror E3 CBS All Access Ellie Kemper hispanic fast and furious latino anthology ratings ESPN green book politics Mystery worst crime thriller Chilling Adventures of Sabrina tv talk movie Pop comics Arrowverse Disney APB The CW Spectrum Originals Warner Bros. elevated horror crime Pixar Teen thriller robots Interview DirecTV Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt Travel Channel BBC One San Diego Comic-Con indie award winner what to watch canceled Sci-Fi TruTV transformers binge ITV Dark Horse Comics justice league WGN obituary YouTube Red DC Universe Fox News 4/20 Infographic Star Wars book Summer richard e. Grant