Juno Leads Independent Spirit Winners...And Gains Momentum For Oscar Gold

Full list of today's winners inside.

by | February 23, 2008 | Comments

Wire Image -- Kevin Mazur

The little teen pregnancy movie that could made a last-minute surge towards tomorrow’s Oscars as Juno won three of its four Independent Spirit Award categories during Saturday’s event.

As we noted while live-blogging the red carpet from Jiminy Glick’s Netflix living room, this year’s Film Independent Spirit Awards seemed to be all about Jason Reitman‘s Juno from the get-go. As Juno had become the buzzword of this awards season, earning critics circles’ and numerous Top Ten honors, one’s Oscar pool ballot might seem to be amiss without at least one or two Juno-related predictions.

And so it was when Hollywood came out Saturday afternoon for the Film Independent Spirit Awards. Held in a beachside tent in Santa Monica, the champagne-fueled party got A-listers and indie filmmakers alike out in droves to celebrate the best of the year’s independent, or at least independent in spirit, films. Leading the pack of winners was Juno, which won the day’s top prize for Best Feature. Twenty-year-old star Ellen Page won the trophy for Best Actress, and writer Diablo Cody won for the Best First Screenplay.

Cody faced a room full of press after her win. “To me having the film be made is the reward,” she said. “You never expect in a million years that [your screenplay] is even going to be produced…this is so cool!”

Diablo Cody with her Spirit trophy. (Kevin Mazur, WireImage) Click for more images from the 2008 Spirit Awards.

RT asked Cody if she, like the majority of Oscar pundits, sees Juno as the front runner for tomorrow’s event.

“No! The fact that people have embraced this movie the way they did continues to be a surprise. I still think of us as the ‘little pregnant girl movie’ that has somehow caught on. It doesn’t feel like an Oscar movie.”

Also nabbing multiple wins were the Oscar-nominated films The Savages (Philip Seymour Hoffman for Best Actor, writer-director Tamara Jenkins for Best Screenplay) and The Diving Bell and the Butterfly (director Julian Schnabel for Best Director, Janusz Kaminski for Best Cinematography). Earlier, Jason Reitman had predicted that the directing award would go to his fellow nominee Schnabel; both are also up for Best Director in tomorrow’s Oscar race.

Rounding out the acting awards were wins by Chiwetel Ejiofor for his upporting role in Talk To Me, and Cate Blanchett, who received a supporting trophy for her role as Bob Dylan in Todd Haynes’ I’m Not There (for which she is also Oscar-nominated). Blanchett will be competing for a second award tomorrow night for her starring role in Elizabeth: The Golden Age.

Check out the full list of Indie Spirit Award winners below (winners in bold).

Best Feature

The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
I’m Not There
A Mighty Heart
Paranoid Park

Best Director

Todd Haynes
I’m Not There

Tamara Jenkins
The Savages

Jason Reitman

Julian Schnabel
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

Gus Van Sant
Paranoid Park

Best Female Lead

Angelina Jolie
A Mighty Heart

Sienna Miller

Ellen Page

Parker Posey
Broken English

Tang Wei
Lust, Caution

Best Male Lead

Pedro Castaneda
August Evening

Don Cheadle
Talk to Me

Philip Seymour Hoffman
The Savages

Tony Leung
Lust, Caution

Frank Langella
Starting Out in the Evening

Best Supporting Female

Cate Blanchett
I’m Not There

Anna Kendrick
Rocket Science

Jennifer Jason Leigh
Margot at the Wedding

Tamara Podemski
Four Sheets to the Wind

Marisa Tomei
Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead

Best Supporting Male

Chiwetel Ejiofor
Talk to Me

Marcus Carl Franklin
I’m Not There

Kene Holliday
Great World of Sound

Irfan Khan
The Namesake

Steve Zahn
Rescue Dawn

Best Cinematography

Mott Hupful
The Savages

Janusz Kaminski
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

Milton Kam

Mihai Malaimare, Jr.
Youth Without Youth

Rodrigo Prieto
Lust, Caution

Best Screenplay

Ronald Harwood
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

Tamara Jenkins
The Savages

Fred Parnes & Andrew Wagner
Starting Out in the Evening

Adrienne Shelly

Mike White
Year of the Dog

Best First Screenplay

Jeffrey Blitz
Rocket Science

Zoe Cassavetes
Broken English

Diablo Cody

Kelly Masterson
Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead

John Orloff
A Mighty Heart

Best First Feature

2 Days in Paris
Director: Julie Delpy
Producers: Julie Delpy, Christophe Mazodier, Thierry Potok

Great World of Sound
Director Craig Zobel
Producers: Melissa Palmer, David Gordon Green, Richard Wright, Craig Zobel

The Lookout
Director: Scott Frank
Producers: Roger Birnbaum, Gary Barber, Laurence Mark, Walter Parkes

Rocket Science
Director: Jeffrey Blitz
Producers: Effie T. Brown, Sean Welch

Director: Rajnesh Domalpalli
Producer Latha R. Domalapalli

Best Documentary

Crazy Love
Director: Dan Klores

Lake of Fire
Director: Tony Kaye

Manufactured Landscapes
Director: Jennifer Baichwal

The Monastery
Director: Pernille Rose Gronkjaer

The Prisoner Or: How I Planned To Kill Tony Blair
Directors: Petra Epperlein & Michael Tucker

Best Foreign Film

4 Months, 3 Weeks, and 3 Days (Romania)
Director: Cristian Mungiu

The Band’s Visit (Israel)
Director: Eran Koirin

Lady Chatterley (France)
Director: Pascale Ferran

Once (Ireland)
Director: John Carney

Persepolis (France)
Director: Vincent Paronnaud & Marjane Satrapi

Robert Altman Award

I’m Not There
Director: Todd Haynes
Casting Director Laura Rosenthal
Ensemble Cast: Cate Blanchett, Christian Bale, Richard Gere, Heath Ledger, Ben Whishaw, Marcus Carl Franklin, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Bruce Greenwood, David Cross, Julianne Moore, Michelle Williams

John Cassavetes Award

August Evening
Writer/Director: Chris Eska
Producers: Connie Hill, Jason Wehling

Owl and the Sparrow
Writer/Director: Stephane Gauger
Producers: Nguyen Van Quen, Doan Nhat Nam, Stephane Gauger

The Pool
Director: Chris Smith
Producer: Kate Noble
Writers: Chris Smith & Randy Russell

Quiet City
Director: Aaron Katz
Producers: Brendan McFadden, Ben Stambler
Writers: Aaron Katz, Erin Fisher, Cris Lankenau
Shotgun Stories
Writer/Director: Jeff Nichols
Producers: David Gordon Green, Lisa Muskat, Jeff Nichols

IFC/Acura Someone to Watch Award

Ramin Bahrani
Director of Chop Shop

Lee Isaac Chung
Director of Munyurangabo

Ronnie Bronstein
Director of Frownland

Piaget Producers Award

Anne Clements
Producer of Ping Pong Playa and Quinceañera

Alexis Ferris
Producer of Cthulhu and Police Beat

Neil Kopp
Producer of Paranoid Park and Old Joy

Read our red carpet report here, blogged from Jiminy Glick’s (Martin Short) celebrity living room.