Directors Guild of America Announces 2013 Nominees

by | January 9, 2014 | Comments

After announcing their five nominees for Best Film Director of 2013, the Directors Guild of America continued on January 9 by further announcing their nominees for directing achievements in television. Accordingly, we’ve updated our list below to include the TV categories. The winners will be announced at a Jane Lynch-hosted ceremony on January 25 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in sunny Los Angeles.

Between 2003 to 2011, the DGA Award winner also took home the Best Director Oscar in February, until 2012, when Argo‘s Ben Affleck got the DGA and ultimately was not nominated for the Academy Award.

    Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Regularly Scheduled Programming

  • Dave Diomedi – Late Night with Jimmy Fallon, “#799”
  • Andy Fisher – Jimmy Kimmel Live, “#13-1810”
  • Jim Hoskinson – The Colbert Report, “#10004”
  • Don Roy King – Saturday Night Live, “Saturday Night Live with Host Justin Timberlake”
  • Chuck O’Neil – The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, “#19018”

    Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Reality Shows

  • Matthew Bartley – The Biggest Loser, “1501”
  • Neil P. DeGroot – 72 Hours, “The Lost Coast”
  • Paul Starkman – Top Chef, “Glacial Gourmand”
  • J. Rupert Thompson – The Hero, “Teamwork”
  • Bertram van Munster – The Amazing Race, “Beards in the Wind”