Chadwick Boseman and Carey Mulligan Take Top Acting Prizes at Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards

Small Axe, Promising Young Woman, and Ma Rainey's Black Bottom top the list with two awards each.

by | December 20, 2020 | Comments

Carey Mulligan and Bo Burnham in Promising Young Woman

(Photo by Merie Weismiller Wallace/©Focus Features)

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) announced the winners of their 2020 awards this morning on Twitter. Killing Eve Showrunner Emerald Fennell’s Promising Young Woman, Netflix’s Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, and Steve McQueen’s anthology series Small Axe all took home two prizes each with the latter also taking home Best Picture.

LAFCA awards are chosen by a group of critics from daily newspapers, weekly newspapers, magazines, and qualifying online general-interest publications. Last year, Parasite took the Best Picture award on its way to an eventual Best Picture win at the Academy Awards.

Read through for the full list below, and if you’re as obsessed with awards as we are, make sure to check out the complete Awards Leaderboard to keep up to date on the accolades bestowed on the best movies of 2020/2021 from the press, fans, and members of the film industry.

Best Picture:
Small Axe Anthology – Steve McQueen (96%)

Best Director:
Chloé Zhao  – Nomadland (96%)

Best Screenplay:
Emerald FennellPromising Young Woman (92%)

Best Actress:
Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman (92%)

Best Actor:
Chadwick BosemanMa Rainey’s Black Bottom  (98%)

Best Supporting Actress:
Youn Yuh-JungMinari (99%)

Best Supporting Actor:
Glynn Turman – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (98%)

Best Cinematography:
Shabier Kirchner – Small Axe Anthology (96%)

Best Score: 
Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross – Soul (98%)

Best Editing: 
Yorgos Lamprinos – The Father (100%)

Best Production Design
Donald Graham Burt – Mank (84%)

Best Animated Film:
Wolfwalkers (98%)

Best Non-Fiction Film (Documentary):
Time (99%)

Best Foreign Film:
Beanpole (98%)

New Generation Award: 
Radha Blank – The Forty-Year-Old Version (98%)

Douglas Edwards Prize: 
John Gianvito

Thumbnail image by © Focus Features

On an Apple device? Follow Rotten Tomatoes on Apple News.