Awards Tour: Directors Guild of America Winners

Find out who took home the big prize.

by | January 29, 2011 | Comments

The Directors Guild of America has been in the awards game for decades – in 1938, it bestowed an “Honorary Life Member” award to the legendary D.W. Griffith, and in 1948, it inaugurated its Outstanding Achievement in Feature Film honor, which went to Joseph Mankiewicz for A Letter to Three Wives. Since then, the Guild has expanded its roster of superlatives, handing out hardware for everything from daytime soaps to documentary features. It’s also nearly flawless as a barometer for the Best Director Academy Award. Only guild members can vote for nominees, which were announced on Jan. 12, and the winners were announced in a ceremony on Jan. 29. See below to see who took home the big prize!

Best Director

Darren Aronofsky

Black Swan

Black Swan


David Fincher

The Social



David O. Russell

The Fighter


Christopher Nolan



Tom Hooper

The King’s Speech


For the full list of DGA winners in all categories, click here.

For all of RT’s awards season coverage, check out Awards Tour here.