Online Film Critics Offer Their Annual Nominations

by | January 10, 2006 | Comments

The OFCS, which is hosted right here at Rotten Tomatoes and (full disclosure) includes yours truly as a member, announced their year-end nominations yesterday … and we hope you’ll find a few solid surprises among the more familiar (yet obviously deserving) nominees. The winners will be announced on Monday the 16th.


Brokeback Mountain
Good Night, and Good Luck.
A History of Violence


George Clooney, Good Night, and Good Luck.
David Cronenberg, A History of Violence
Ang Lee, Brokeback Mountain
Peter Jackson, King Kong
Steven Spielberg, Munich


Philip Seymour Hoffman, Capote
Terrence Howard, Hustle & Flow
Heath Ledger, Brokeback Mountain
Joaquin Phoenix, Walk the Line
David Strathairn, Good Night, and Good Luck.


Joan Allen, The Upside of Anger
Felicity Huffman, Transamerica
Keira Knightley, Pride & Prejudice
Naomi Watts, King Kong
Reese Witherspoon, Walk the Line


Matt Dillon, Crash
Paul Giamatti, Cinderella Man
Jake Gyllenhaal, Brokeback Mountain
William Hurt, A History of Violence
Mickey Rourke, Sin City


Amy Adams, Junebug
Maria Bello, A History of Violence
Catherine Keener, Capote
Rachel Weisz, The Constant Gardener
Michelle Williams, Brokeback Mountain


Woody Allen, Match Point
Noah Baumbach, The Squid and the Whale
George Clooney and Grant Heslov, Good Night, and Good Luck.
Paul Haggis & Bobby Moresco, Crash
Jim Jarmusch, Broken Flowers


Jeffrey Caine, The Constant Gardener
Dan Futterman, Capote
Tony Kushner & Eric Roth, Munich
Larry McMurtry & Diana Ossana, Brokeback Mountain
Josh Olson, A History of Violence


Christopher Doyle, Kwan Pun Leung and Yiu-Fai Lai, 2046
Robert Elswit, Good Night, and Good Luck.
Emmanuel Lubezki, The New World
Rodrigo Prieto, Brokeback Mountain
Robert Rodriguez, Sin City


Michael Kahn, Munich
Stephen Mirrione, Good Night, and Good Luck.
Robert Rodriguez, Sin City
Ronald Sanders, A History of Violence
Claire Simpson, The Constant Gardener


James Newton Howard, King Kong
James Newton Howard and Hans Zimmer, Batman Begins
James Horner, The New World
Gustavo Santaolalla, Brokeback Mountain
John Williams, Munich


The Aristocrats

Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room
Grizzly Man
March of the Penguins


Kung Fu Hustle


Howl’s Moving Castle
Tim Burton’s Corpse Bride
Wallace & Gromit in The Curse of the Were-Rabbit


Judd Apatow, The 40-Year-Old Virgin
Craig Brewer, Hustle & Flow
Paul Haggis, Crash
Bennett Miller, Capote
Joe Wright, Pride & Prejudice


Nathan Fillion, Serenity
Georgie Henley, The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
Tony Jaa, Ong-Bak: The Thai Warrior
Q’Orianka Kilcher, The New World
Owen Kline, The Squid and the Whale

Founded in 1997, the Online Film Critics Society has been the key force in establishing and raising the standards for Internet-based film journalism. The OFCS membership spans the U.S., Canada, Europe, Latin America, Africa, and the Asia/Pacific Rim region, with journalists representing many of the most important online film-related sites including Salon, Slate, TV Guide Online, IndieWire, Netflix, Film Threat, and the Internet Movie Database.

The Society’s web site, which has been hosted since January 2001 by the highly influential film resource Rotten Tomatoes, provides the most comprehensive online listing of reviews and original interviews with the leading artists in today’s cinema, plus links to the most important motion picture-related web sites.

Tag Cloud

Action war Apple First Look Interview DC Comics PaleyFest TCA VICE Trailer travel Creative Arts Emmys thriller Comedy National Geographic festivals true crime Pirates Trivia Brie Larson Thanksgiving sequel TCA 2017 cooking mutant Cartoon Network Bravo Freeform Shondaland Star Wars Rom-Com USA Network Columbia Pictures ESPN Marathons aliens anime Amazon Prime Pop Universal Sony Pictures Rocketman Cannes The Witch FX Box Office green book robots See It Skip It Lionsgate 24 frames VH1 El Rey Super Bowl police drama harry potter Nickelodeon Winners political drama television The CW Tumblr TruTV NBC Hulu FXX WGN Certified Fresh TCM Sci-Fi sports APB E! adaptation Sneak Peek supernatural CMT Valentine's Day President MCU Character Guide psycho zero dark thirty TNT Drama ITV Country Shudder Stephen King comic Election ABC Family spider-man A&E DC streaming service Ellie Kemper Countdown GIFs HBO vampires CBS All Access cinemax Dark Horse Comics Ghostbusters casting Walt Disney Pictures disaster Mudbound technology dceu YouTube Red 2017 Acorn TV Comic Book Black Mirror Calendar Esquire period drama Tomatazos mockumentary TV 45 Reality Competition Emmys sitcom Ovation Red Carpet Nominations 2016 American Society of Cinematographers jamie lee curtis Sundance MTV transformers YA space TV Land diversity Animation Logo Amazon RT21 Photos richard e. Grant Warner Bros. Masterpiece dramedy Opinion Cosplay LGBTQ streaming cults theme song Biopics nature Awards Tour Lucasfilm unscripted CNN zombie BET singing competition Song of Ice and Fire teaser X-Men Sundance Now Quiz politics Spring TV 2018 talk show GoT SXSW Trophy Talk hist boxoffice 21st Century Fox Winter TV Comedy Central 2015 E3 Crackle Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt USA OWN biography Oscars elevated horror Food Network SundanceTV Starz CW Seed crime drama ratings BBC America YouTube Premium psychological thriller cops Set visit medical drama Writers Guild of America TLC Paramount award winner AMC Comics on TV adventure 007 Vudu Women's History Month comiccon golden globes DirecTV blaxploitation CBS doctor who BBC Mary Poppins Returns 20th Century Fox Spike Disney Infographic Disney Channel spy thriller Elton John science fiction TBS discovery GLAAD Mystery Chilling Adventures of Sabrina Best and Worst Paramount Network miniseries NYCC crime Captain marvel Nat Geo docudrama Britbox Spectrum Originals Rock DGA TIFF Fall TV Martial Arts Lifetime Film Festival anthology MSNBC Reality justice league ABC Extras zombies based on movie natural history Grammys binge strong female leads Fantasy Adult Swim Watching Series serial killer Mary Tyler Moore Music Superheroe IFC Films History Awards Teen Mary poppins social media Rocky Musicals Musical Horror dc Toys Netflix Mindy Kaling finale dragons RT History San Diego Comic-Con The Arrangement Heroines Year in Review crime thriller DC Universe 2019 Star Trek Summer Anna Paquin Fox News Showtime PBS Syfy historical drama Premiere Dates SDCC Pixar Christmas IFC Superheroes cats Pet Sematary Marvel Epix romance Tarantino Holidays FOX Podcast Kids & Family Western Polls and Games crossover witnail Video Games facebook what to watch composers Schedule New York Comic Con