DFW Film Critics choose Million Dollar Baby

by | January 4, 2005 | Comments

The Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association voted Clint Eastwood’s character-driven drama "Million Dollar Baby" as the best film of 2004, according to the results of its 11th annual critics’ poll.

Rounding out the composite list of the top 10 films of the year were "Sideways" (2), "Finding Neverland" (3), "The Aviator" (4), "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" (5), "Ray" (6), "Kinsey" (7), "The Incredibles" (8), "A Very Long Engagement" (9) and "Hotel Rwanda" (10).

For Best Actor, the association named Paul Giamatti for "Sideways." Runners-up included Jamie Foxx for "Ray" (2), Leonardo DiCaprio for "The Aviator" (3), Johnny Depp for "Finding Neverland" (4) and Don Cheadle for "Hotel Rwanda" (5).

Hilary Swank was voted Best Actress for "Million Dollar Baby." Next in the voting were Imelda Staunton for "Vera Drake" (2), Kate Winslet for "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" (3), Catalina Sandino Moreno for "Maria Full of Grace" (4) and Annette Bening for "Being Julia" (5).

In the Best Supporting Actor category, the winner was Thomas Haden Church for "Sideways." He was followed by Morgan Freeman for "Million Dollar Baby" (2), Jamie Foxx for "Collateral" (3), Clive Owen for "Closer" (4) and Peter Sarsgaard for "Kinsey" (5).

For Best Supporting Actress, the association named Virginia Madsen for "Sideways." Runners-up included Cate Blanchett for "The Aviator" (2), Natalie Portman for "Closer" (3), Laura Linney for "Kinsey" (4) and Meryl Streep for "The Manchurian Candidate" (5).

Martin Scorsese was voted Best Director for "The Aviator." Next in the voting were Clint Eastwood for "Million Dollar Baby" (2), Alexander Payne for "Sideways" (3), Marc Forster for "Finding Neverland" (4) and Pedro Almodovar for "Bad Education" (5).

The association voted "A Very Long Engagement" as the best foreign-language film of the year. Runners-up were "The Motorcycle Diaries" (2), "House of Flying Daggers" (3), "Bad Education" (4) and "Maria Full Of Grace" (5).

"Fahrenheit 9/11" won for Best Documentary over "Tarnation" (2), "Super Size Me" (3), "Riding Giants" (4) and "Festival Express" (5).

"The Incredibles" was named the best animated film of 2003, with "Shrek 2" as runner-up. The award for Best Cinematography went to Christopher Doyle for "Hero," followed by Xiaoding Zhao for "House Of Flying Daggers." "Christmas With the Kranks" was voted the worst film of the year.

The association voted "Maria Full of Grace" as the winner of the Russell Smith Award, named for the late Dallas Morning News film critic. The honor is given annually to the best low-budget or cutting-edge independent film. The Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association consists of 63 broadcast and print journalists from throughout North Texas.

Tag Cloud

The Purge TCA Awards Fox News PaleyFest Sneak Peek ABC Family Ovation Animation franchise History MTV Columbia Pictures TV renewals Marvel Television 45 Pride Month Film Disney streaming service boxoffice canceled screenings Photos Extras Country scary movies 2016 theme song Anna Paquin LGBTQ Spike Star Wars Fall TV Heroines technology talk show USA Network comics Rocky scorecard Trophy Talk X-Men Valentine's Day toronto DC streaming service WGN BET Cartoon Network GLAAD reboot Superheroes canceled TV shows Tumblr television Polls and Games Thanksgiving discovery rotten movies we love Sony Pictures christmas movies Pixar Nominations Vudu See It Skip It Paramount Network OWN zombies composers sequel festivals Rom-Com Opinion Disney Plus remakes natural history Mary Tyler Moore Peacock Grammys game show Superheroe batman sitcom GoT TV cats crime drama Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt YA Sundance classics TNT Red Carpet quibi Elton John MSNBC Tubi Trailer ITV TBS TLC Universal stoner Pet Sematary 4/20 DGA anthology Musicals twilight Amazon Disney+ Disney Plus festival Lifetime Toys dark laika concert romance serial killer YouTube Discovery Channel 2015 spanish language travel comic Reality Competition Hallmark Christmas movies CMT science fiction binge The CW richard e. Grant DC Comics docudrama name the review asian-american chucky The Arrangement Marvel Studios Amazon Studios news Year in Review Pirates Amazon Prime Dark Horse Comics Shondaland Nat Geo historical drama Pop TV cancelled television Paramount disaster parents FXX Freeform Drama Pop A&E hist Crunchyroll a nightmare on elm street Turner BBC One renewed TV shows Logo Creative Arts Emmys dceu cancelled TV series Biopics political drama facebook Bravo Mystery Classic Film satire Ellie Kemper CNN best foreign halloween Set visit Tomatazos robots biography Spring TV YouTube Premium aliens First Reviews Rocketman Turner Classic Movies E! streaming TIFF Esquire versus ghosts Winter TV Podcast Mary Poppins Returns diversity sag awards war BBC child's play Christmas nature Netflix Horror dc supernatural Television Academy Masterpiece nfl Hulu obituary Black Mirror Mindy Kaling harry potter Sundance TV BBC America DC Universe mockumentary IFC Films miniseries FOX HBO Max crime thriller 2019 cinemax dogs zombie criterion Cannes Ghostbusters Black History Month HBO Go Television Critics Association Comedy Central Comedy slashers SundanceTV transformers Winners dragons Binge Guide Family all-time Schedule Spectrum Originals President blaxploitation unscripted Avengers AMC TCA latino 71st Emmy Awards LGBT NYCC Trivia spinoff TCA 2017 spy thriller psycho MCU Infographic APB superhero Travel Channel nbcuniversal cancelled TV shows social media indiana jones VOD Disney Action police drama RT History justice league Disney Channel El Rey Apple Acorn TV doctor who hollywood Netflix Christmas movies strong female leads Martial Arts south america BAFTA spain Writers Guild of America The Witch Lionsgate American Society of Cinematographers Election Syfy singing competition documentaries National Geographic New York Comic Con sequels Sci-Fi 24 frames elevated horror Interview video on demand Music VICE crime witnail IFC Cosplay casting golden globes 72 Emmy Awards Best and Worst WarnerMedia Hallmark zero dark thirty Epix Super Bowl TV Land Awards Tour Tarantino BET Awards Stephen King DirecTV A24 USA Nickelodeon cooking SDCC psychological thriller based on movie Lifetime Christmas movies book Amazon Prime Video TruTV 007 mutant worst movies ESPN Awards Food Network First Look video FX on Hulu Captain marvel FX Baby Yoda Box Office tv talk Marathons joker football toy story VH1 CW Seed Apple TV+ Shudder comedies Comics on TV adventure 2017 animated Teen politics Crackle TCA Winter 2020 movie stand-up comedy movies Countdown Endgame TCM Marvel hispanic cops spider-man venice worst Warner Bros. Song of Ice and Fire Watching Series Musical Holidays independent space Star Trek Comic Book thriller documentary 2020 stop motion medical drama GIFs Fantasy period drama Holiday Film Festival Chernobyl Women's History Month Premiere Dates Academy Awards die hard free movies Arrowverse RT21 Certified Fresh Starz Funimation 20th Century Fox Showtime screen actors guild teaser Lucasfilm crossover cults adaptation Hear Us Out Emmys Apple TV Plus jamie lee curtis children's TV Brie Larson San Diego Comic-Con 21st Century Fox directors Summer Mary poppins CBS Quiz CBS All Access game of thrones cars dramedy werewolf Kids & Family ratings award winner Mudbound OneApp NBC Character Guide critics films ABC PBS YouTube Red comiccon mission: impossible PlayStation kids true crime vampires Video Games Adult Swim Britbox The Walking Dead Rock fast and furious universal monsters revenge series breaking bad romantic comedy cartoon Calendar anime Western emmy awards blockbuster indie Oscars Sundance Now E3 2018 rotten Walt Disney Pictures what to watch Chilling Adventures of Sabrina Emmy Nominations finale Reality sports SXSW reviews cancelled HBO green book