2015 Gotham Independent Winners Announced

Spotlight wins Best Feature and Best Screenplay.

by | November 30, 2015 | Comments

The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) announced the winners for the 25th edition of the Gotham Independent Film Awards this evening in a ceremony held in New York City and streamed live at ifp.org. The event was presented by Broad City‘s Ilana Glazer and Abbi Jacobson. Read through for the full list of winners and nominees.

Best Feature

Best Documentary

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

Desiree Akhavan

Appropriate Behavior

Jonas Carpigano


John Magary

The Mend

Josh Mond

James White

Best Screenplay

Phyllis Nagy


Oren Moverman and Michael Alan Lerner

Love & Mercy

Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer


Noah Baumbach

While We're Young

Best Actor

Best Actress

Blythe Danner

I’ll See You in My Dreams

Bel Powley

The Diary of a Teenage Girl

Kristen Wiig

Welcome to Me

Breakthrough Actor

Arielle Holmes

Heaven Knows What

Lola Kirke

Mistress America

Mya Taylor


Breakthrough Series – Long Form

Breakthrough Series – Short Form

  • Bee and PuppyCat – Natasha Allegri, creator
  • The Impossibilities – Anna Kerrigan, creator; Ashley Springer, Kati Rediger, producers
  • Qraftish – Christal and Black Girl Dangerous Media, Creators
  • Shugs and Fats – Nadia Manzoor and Radhika Vaz, Creators
  • You’re So Talented – Sam Bailey, Creator; Samantha Lee, Mateo Gonzales, Producers

Spotlight on Women Directors “Live the Dream”Grant

  • Claire Carré – director, Embers
  • Deb Shoval – director, AWOL
  • Chanelle Aponte Pearson – director, 195 Lewis
  • Bradly Martin

    If Paul Dano won something I’m assuming these awards are for the films that get next to no marketing, love, or publiclity during award season?

  • Adeline Evans

    I am so happy about Paul Dano and Mr. Robot winning. I love both of them

Tag Cloud

FXX ghosts witnail Red Carpet Reality Competition Starz The Witch comic Rocky binge finale Marvel Studios Action true crime Character Guide Mary Poppins Returns BBC America TCA rotten movies we love USA Trophy Talk Mary Tyler Moore CW Seed scary movies USA Network Trailer Marvel slashers political drama DC Universe dark adaptation NBC Valentine's Day Showtime aliens criterion Rock dogs PaleyFest documentaries Heroines video dceu cancelled television The CW BAFTA justice league TruTV reviews FOX President joker scorecard toronto ABC Family Lucasfilm Opinion ABC Tomatazos Epix cats Superheroes cars 24 frames Ovation name the review green book Brie Larson cartoon CBS All Access Hallmark cults spain 2017 DC streaming service LGBTQ halloween Schedule Apple TV+ Discovery Channel Anna Paquin 2016 mission: impossible HBO Go war VOD sag awards sitcom MTV A24 2020 Trivia WGN Awards Tour ITV Warner Bros. HBO Max jamie lee curtis Winter TV space Nominations E! Tarantino Fox Searchlight zombies Sony Pictures Premiere Dates game show American Society of Cinematographers PlayStation 2019 The Walking Dead NYCC MCU chucky Creative Arts Emmys breaking bad Rocketman Comics on TV Endgame Shudder cancelled cancelled TV series movies Apple Photos Hulu Stephen King die hard free movies teaser GIFs technology thriller RT21 Pet Sematary IFC VH1 21st Century Fox hollywood Martial Arts Grammys rotten Mystery Tubi hist TCA Awards crime thriller romantic comedy child's play Spike harry potter GLAAD facebook boxoffice Star Wars cancelled TV shows Western Music doctor who classics composers nfl YA YouTube Red zero dark thirty worst directors Reality A&E critics DC Comics First Reviews comiccon Biopics 4/20 FX on Hulu canceled TV shows Black Mirror superhero Captain marvel SXSW quibi Acorn TV 2015 Holiday DGA disaster Country RT History archives travel social media emmy awards Amazon Studios Universal Sundance Now batman what to watch Pop south america satire renewed TV shows supernatural San Diego Comic-Con talk show Summer TV politics Family Disney Channel HBO BET The Purge stop motion documentary Disney streaming service Pixar TV Land 45 CMT Interview Video Games Film Festival Oscars BBC Fantasy Spectrum Originals New York Comic Con independent APB miniseries spanish language toy story PBS singing competition best TCM Paramount Logo serial killer Masterpiece twilight richard e. Grant CNN adventure Nat Geo theme song Netflix dramedy blaxploitation anime Best and Worst series Women's History Month game of thrones YouTube Premium mutant SDCC Ghostbusters Drama Crackle Pirates Box Office DirecTV Countdown Toys obituary TLC SundanceTV films Lifetime stoner El Rey Star Trek Podcast versus AMC Certified Fresh Amazon Prime Video italian fast and furious Pride Month reboot latino Peacock movie nature worst movies dragons GoT Mary poppins 2018 dc TIFF History Chilling Adventures of Sabrina Hallmark Christmas movies Election asian-american Walt Disney Pictures sports WarnerMedia Chernobyl festival book OneApp X-Men japanese Avengers canceled Kids & Family Polls and Games 71st Emmy Awards docudrama Arrowverse festivals Thanksgiving anthology tv talk TCA Winter 2020 Watching Series elevated horror award winner television Musicals Mudbound Sundance psycho all-time natural history golden globes Nickelodeon Extras spy thriller video on demand E3 screenings romance TCA 2017 Spring TV period drama Horror First Look historical drama Teen Super Bowl crime drama blockbuster comedies medical drama remakes halloween tv Fall TV Black History Month concert based on movie comics Cartoon Network 72 Emmy Awards Paramount Network BET Awards biography Mindy Kaling ratings venice Comedy Central Lifetime Christmas movies OWN Winners universal monsters ESPN a nightmare on elm street vampires Netflix Christmas movies TNT Sneak Peek Food Network Calendar screen actors guild news Cannes sequels spider-man See It Skip It Classic Film Christmas parents Hear Us Out cooking TV renewals Cosplay Disney Plus indiana jones strong female leads Musical Infographic Amazon Prime crime Disney+ Disney Plus cinemax Holidays streaming psychological thriller MSNBC unscripted Crunchyroll CBS Emmy Nominations Travel Channel VICE children's TV Columbia Pictures Baby Yoda Awards Television Critics Association discovery Ellie Kemper Comedy hispanic transformers Turner The Arrangement IFC Films Emmys Shondaland Superheroe Binge Guide christmas movies TBS robots National Geographic 20th Century Fox Rom-Com Amazon police drama Syfy franchise Adult Swim Marvel Television sequel LGBT revenge science fiction animated zombie The Academy Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt Tumblr FX Britbox stand-up comedy Funimation Pop TV BBC One Song of Ice and Fire Quiz Vudu Year in Review football spinoff Animation kids mockumentary Film casting foreign Bravo french Writers Guild of America Dark Horse Comics Turner Classic Movies YouTube crossover Apple TV Plus indie Elton John werewolf Sci-Fi cops Set visit nbcuniversal Marathons Disney Lionsgate Academy Awards spanish laika Comic Book Sundance TV 007 Television Academy diversity Freeform Fox News Esquire