Broadcast Film Critics Name Critics' Choice Winners

by | January 8, 2009 | Comments

The 14th Annual Critics’ Choice Awards were given on January 8, 2009, to honor the finest achievements in 2008 filmmaking. A list of nominees follows below, with winners in bold:

Best Picture:
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
The Dark Knight
The Reader
Slumdog Millionaire

The Wrestler

Best Actor:
Clint Eastwood, Gran Torino
Richard Jenkins, The Visitor
Frank Langella, Frost/Nixon
Sean Penn, Milk
Brad Pitt, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Mickey Rourke, The Wrestler

Best Actress (Tie):
Kate Beckinsale, Nothing But the Truth
Cate Blanchett, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Anne Hathaway, Rachel Getting Married
Angelina Jolie, Changeling
Melissa Leo, Frozen River
Meryl Streep, Doubt

Best Supporting Actor:
Josh Brolin, Milk
Robert Downey, Jr., Tropic Thunder
Philip Seymour Hoffman, Doubt
Heath Ledger, The Dark Knight

James Franco, Milk

Best Supporting Actress:
Penelope Cruz, Vicky Cristina Barcelona
Viola Davis, Doubt
Vera Farmiga, Nothing But the Truth
Taraji P. Henson, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Marisa Tomei, The Wrestler
Kate Winslet, The Reader

Best Acting Ensemble:
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
The Dark Knight

Rachel Getting Married

Best Director:
Danny Boyle, Slumdog Millionaire
David Fincher, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Ron Howard, Frost/Nixon
Christopher Nolan, The Dark Knight
Gus Van Sant, Milk

Best Writer:
Simon Beaufoy, Slumdog Millionaire
Dustin Lance Black, Milk
Peter Morgan, Frost/Nixon
Eric Roth, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
John Patrick Shanley, Doubt

Best Animated Feature:
Kung Fu Panda
Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa
Waltz With Bashir

Best Young Actor/Actress:
Dakota Fanning, The Secret Life of Bees
David Kross, The Reader
Dev Patel, Slumdog Millionaire

Brandon Walters, Australia

Best Action Movie:
The Dark Knight

Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull
Iron Man
Quantum of Solace

Best Comedy Movie:
Burn After Reading
Forgetting Sarah Marshall
Role Models
Tropic Thunder

Vicky Cristina Barcelona

Best Foreign Language Film:
A Christmas Tale
I’ve Loved You So Long
Let the Right One In
Waltz With Bashir

Best Documentary Feature:
Man On Wire

Roman Polanski: Wanted and Desired
Standard Operating Procedure
Young At Heart

Source: Broadcast Film Critics Association

Tag Cloud

Trailer Grammys science fiction NBC talk show Reality FOX APB Showtime FX 007 adventure Pop The Arrangement cops Superheroes Marvel medical drama E! biography 2017 WGN comiccon Oscars Marathons Action crime thriller Fox News Character Guide Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt BET CMT cinemax Watching Series Adult Swim GIFs Dark Horse Comics Lifetime Summer Disney Biopics 45 PBS Toys SundanceTV dc TLC Ellie Kemper Masterpiece Video Games MTV Calendar aliens TNT serial killer war ABC Family crime social media historical drama what to watch ESPN Amazon VH1 Reality Competition SDCC Starz History TCA Election travel based on movie Rock TruTV Musical First Look sports DirecTV Winners Awards DC Comics DC Universe FXX CNN Hulu Music Tumblr IFC Photos Sneak Peek BBC TIFF Star Trek psycho Warner Bros. Fantasy TV Land Rom-Com boxoffice MSNBC cats 21st Century Fox X-Men Red Carpet diversity Trivia vampires Crackle Syfy transformers ITV Ghostbusters Pirates technology Esquire Freeform period drama YA crime drama Infographic composers Disney Channel Writers Guild of America dramedy Super Bowl cooking Teen Horror 2015 2016 Rocky Sundance thriller NYCC Comic Book Comedy Central The CW ABC Polls and Games Thanksgiving CBS Country Box Office Lionsgate Spring TV Valentine's Day Universal Cartoon Network Interview Nat Geo HBO GLAAD TV Bravo LGBTQ Year in Review OWN TCA 2017 TBS Mary Tyler Moore Nickelodeon Star Wars zombie AMC A&E romance 24 frames Musicals PaleyFest Kids & Family Animation Tomatazos Martial Arts binge justice league Netflix harry potter Nominations GoT Opinion BBC America Schedule E3 Podcast Fall TV Sci-Fi Mindy Kaling sitcom Comedy Set visit Countdown politics Food Network Logo American Society of Cinematographers VICE Winter TV CBS All Access Holidays President Best and Worst discovery Mystery dceu singing competition USA RT History police drama political drama Drama Paramount docudrama Emmys Cosplay Extras El Rey Certified Fresh TCM Premiere Dates supernatural