Kong to Receive Special Honor at the Critics' Choice Awards

by | December 20, 2005 | Comments

The big ape will be getting a special award at the 11th annual Critics’ Choice Awards on January 9, 2006, the Broadcast Film Critics Association announced. Kong will be presented with The Distinguished Achievement in Performing Arts Award on the live telecast "in recognition of the singular achievement in creating this character, representing a revolutionary leap forward in synthesizing visual effects with an actor’s performance," according to the press release.

"Many BFCA members wanted to vote for Kong for Best Actor because they were so impressed by the astonishing way in which he expresses love, lust, humor and rage in the tradition of the finest human actors," states BFCA president Joey Berlin. "The BFCA Board of Directors feels this recognition is necessary to live up to our goal of honoring the finest in cinematic achievement at the Critics’ Choice Awards show."

The 11th Critics’ Choice Awards will be televised on The WB Monday, January 9th, 2006 at 8:00 PM ET/PT, which comedian Dennis Miller will host. "King Kong," Peter Jackson‘s remake of the 1933 B&W film, is currently playing in theater.

Tag Cloud

Podcast Grammys Thanksgiving IFC TBS FX Certified Fresh HBO NYCC SDCC FXX Showtime Watching Series Martial Arts Valentine's Day APB singing competition Rock Biopics Comedy Central Esquire Food Network Holidays Sneak Peek Fantasy ABC Family aliens Lifetime CNN Syfy Reality BET Disney Channel TV Land Musical GoT History The Arrangement boxoffice 2016 Trivia discovery WGN Animation Dark Horse Comics Election supernatural Ellie Kemper Extras VICE TLC OWN TV Star Trek Ghostbusters PBS ESPN SundanceTV PaleyFest TruTV X-Men Sci-Fi historical drama CMT Sundance E! Crackle RT History Nominations Pop Tomatazos Mindy Kaling Marvel crime thriller Mary Tyler Moore Red Carpet MSNBC Universal MTV Starz thriller Star Wars GIFs Fall TV biography TNT Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt Toys cats Trailer Logo TIFF police drama Opinion dramedy Superheroes period drama AMC Emmys NBC ABC GLAAD vampires sports CBS Amazon Spring TV zombie adventure travel Musicals 2015 First Look Freeform Interview TCM Teen ITV crime drama BBC America DC Comics crime technology Rocky comiccon Summer Cartoon Network Tumblr Horror diversity Infographic Kids & Family Reality Competition composers YA Nat Geo cinemax transformers Oscars 45 Masterpiece E3 Disney Countdown Winners Video Games Premiere Dates American Society of Cinematographers Lionsgate cooking harry potter Drama politics cops CBS All Access Winter TV psycho DirecTV science fiction Rom-Com Box Office docudrama Hulu Polls and Games Action Year in Review Country Comic Book A&E 007 Super Bowl Set visit Writers Guild of America The CW LGBTQ Fox News Bravo USA war Character Guide 2017 Awards social media President VH1 Mystery sitcom FOX based on movie El Rey Adult Swim Best and Worst Cosplay Netflix Music Schedule Photos serial killer TCA 2017 24 frames TCA Nickelodeon Calendar Comedy Pirates BBC political drama Marathons