Juno, No Country for Old Men Among Writers Guild Award Nominees

Oh, and by the way, the awards ceremony? Not happening.

by | January 11, 2008 | Comments

If there’s one Hollywood awards ceremony that you’d think would be able to go off without a hitch this year, it’d be the Writers Guild Awards — but you’d be wrong.

According to The Hollywood Reporter, the WGA “pooped its own party” Thursday when the western branch unilaterally canceled its awards banquet, “blindsiding” WGA East. West and East traded brief statements in the wake of the announcement, with WGAW saying “There will be no Writers Guild of America, West show until the strike is over,” and the WGAE responding with “We are exploring our options, and we will let you know when we have made a decision.”

Ah, creative types — they can never agree on anything. Anything, that is, except for nominations — the WGA at least got its stuff together long enough to come up with the following list of 2008 Writers Guild Award nominees. The list follows below, with Tomatometer percentages in parentheses:

Original screenplay
Juno, written by Diablo Cody (93 percent)
Michael Clayton, written by Tony Gilroy (90 percent)
The Savages, written by Tamara Jenkins (91 percent)
Knocked Up, written by Judd Apatow (90 percent)
Lars and the Real Girl, written by Nancy Oliver (79 percent)

Adapted screenplay
No Country for Old Men, screenplay by Ethan Coen & Joel Coen, based on the novel by Cormac McCarthy (95 percent)
There Will Be Blood, screenplay by Paul Thomas Anderson, based on the novel Oil by Upton Sinclair (89 percent)
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, screenplay by Ronald Harwood, based on the book by Jean-Dominique Bauby (93 percent)
Into the Wild, screenplay by Sean Penn, Based on the book by Jon Krakauer (82 percent)
Zodiac, screenplay by James Vanderbilt, Based on the book by Robert Graysmith (89 percent)

Documentary screenplay
The Camden 28, written by Anthony Giacchino (88 percent)
Nanking, screenplay by Bill Guttentag & Dan Sturman & Elisabeth Bentley, story by Bill Guttentag & Dan Sturman (96 percent)
No End in Sight, written by Charles Ferguson (94 percent)
The Rape of Europa, written by Richard Berge, Nicole Newnham and Bonni Cohen (76 percent)
Sicko, written by Michael Moore (93 percent)
Taxi to the Dark Side, written by Alex Gibney (100 percent)

Source: The Hollywood Reporter

Tag Cloud

The Arrangement supernatural Hulu political drama Star Wars BBC Walt Disney Pictures Grammys Reality Musical zombie vampires Set visit hist E! based on movie Disney Channel DC streaming service Universal what to watch Fox News Dark Horse Comics RT History ITV National Geographic Martial Arts medical drama Certified Fresh Acorn TV thriller Pirates CBS FXX Drama Polls and Games Pop DC Comics Netflix TruTV Biopics The CW OWN Winter TV X-Men Amazon period drama Logo Premiere Dates Country Ovation binge Freeform diversity Marathons 24 frames Video Games ESPN streaming Syfy Lucasfilm ABC HBO Trailer sports Christmas FOX dceu unscripted Ghostbusters SXSW Sci-Fi Action boxoffice robots historical drama justice league Sundance Spring TV Mystery Mindy Kaling Paramount Network FX Creative Arts Emmys crime drama Kids & Family mutant NBC President VICE Animation romance Watching Series Paramount Best and Worst TIFF Starz CBS All Access cats Nickelodeon cooking Reality Competition Lifetime Comedy Central police drama Sundance Now El Rey Rom-Com TCA sitcom travel American Society of Cinematographers DirecTV Crackle Tumblr Teen Oscars SDCC GoT docudrama YA CNN Podcast Comic Book Rocky 45 social media discovery TCM Infographic Spike TLC E3 Toys talk show harry potter Emmys Masterpiece blaxploitation Holidays AMC comiccon crime cults History festivals Marvel technology Countdown 2017 NYCC Columbia Pictures SundanceTV YouTube Red See It Skip It cops politics IFC Films Mary Tyler Moore Red Carpet TCA 2017 cinemax Photos psycho TBS Super Bowl war TV Land singing competition Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt serial killer Ellie Kemper Disney Lionsgate Interview Musicals composers Rock crime thriller IFC CW Seed transformers BBC America Extras Superheroes LGBTQ Britbox First Look dc ratings Schedule zombies aliens BET Adult Swim Calendar Summer Year in Review Apple Tomatazos Food Network PaleyFest Warner Bros. biography 20th Century Fox adventure DC Universe Superheroe dramedy spy thriller Fantasy Comedy Fall TV A&E Song of Ice and Fire TV GLAAD TNT Box Office WGN Star Trek Nat Geo Bravo Thanksgiving YouTube Premium Cosplay Sony Pictures USA Network science fiction Sneak Peek Cartoon Network Writers Guild of America GIFs Showtime Winners APB Valentine's Day Western golden globes Awards ABC Family Pixar USA CMT 21st Century Fox Shondaland 2016 Character Guide finale Trivia Election Nominations VH1 Horror Opinion MSNBC 2015 PBS Music MTV Esquire 007 crossover